BACAPH is an independent, membership based, organisation. It has two chairs, one with a public health background and one with a background in paediatrics. Its work is overseen by an executive committee and is supported by an administrator. Executive committee members have a range of specific roles and are drawn from all four nations of the UK. The current committee members are:

Executive committee roles

RoleNameMore info
Chair (public health) Ingrid Wolfe Director, Evelina London Child Health Programme Paediatric Public Health Consultant, Evelina London Children's Hospital, Guys and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
Chair (paediatrics) Simon Lenton Consultant Paediatrician in Community Child Health Bath, Bath and North East Somerset (retired)
Treasurer and Company Secretary Shantini Paranjothy Clinical Senior Lecturer
Cardiff University School of Medicine
Academic convenor Rachel Isba Consultant in Paediatric Public Health Medicine, North Manchester General Hospital
Communications, website & engagement Stacy John-Legere Consultant Community Paediatrician
Education and training Julie Mytton Associate Professor in Child Health University of the West of England, Bristol Consultant in Child Public Health Bristol City Council
Policy Leonora Weil Public Health Registrar with an interest in Child Public Health.
Advocacy Guddi Singh Paediatric Registrar in London and Paediatric Fellow at Health Education England with wide experience in global health.
Trainee representation (public health) Joia de Sa Specialist Registrar in Paediatrics, Lambeth & Southwark Public Health
Trainee representation (paediatrics) Catherine Black *** Need Details here ***
BACAPH Nursing Lead Louise Condon Associate Professor at Swansea University. Fellow of the Institute of Health Visiting

Four nation representation


A brief description of the responsibilities associated with each of the executive committee roles is available here. If you are interested in putting yourself forward for any of the executive committee roles, please do contact us.

Executive committee members serve a three year term, with a third of the committee being reappointed every year. New executive committee members are appointed by a vote of the existing committee members. New chairs are first vetted by the existing committee members then appointed by a vote of the whole BACAPH membership.

Although independent, BACAPH has close links to a number of organisations, in particular the Faculty of Public Health, the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health, and the British Association for Community Child Health. BACAPH is represented by the two co-chairs who sit on the Faculty of Public Health policy and advocacy committee and the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health policy committee. Ex officio representation of partner organisations on the BACAPH executive committee will be considered in due course. BACAPH is currently working towards being awarded charitable status.

Cron Job Starts